Monday, July 5, 2010

Netaji Subhas Open University

Netaji Subhas Open University (NSOU) is dedicated to the memory of Subhas Chandra Bose. An act passed on 20th August, 1997 made provisions for the establishment of NSOU. It is the premier State Open University of India. It carries on its functions from four offices situated in Kolkata. To reach the poor, the deprived, and the disadvantaged population this university has set up a wide network of study centers. There are about 145 study centers at present but the number of study centers will increase in the near future. At present there are about 95,000 students enrolled in NSOU.
Courses at Netaji Subhash Open University:

Netaji Subhas Open University offers Doctoral, Post Graduate, Graduate, Bachelor's degree preparatory, Vocational training, PG Diploma, Diploma and certificate courses. These courses are offered through various study centers. The details are -

1. Ph.D
All subjects of Arts
Science - Mathematics, Geography, Environmental Science.
Computer science
Computer Application
Distance education
Interdisciplinary subjects
2. Master's Degree Courses
English Language Teaching(ELT)
Political Science
Master of Social Work(MSW)
Master of Computer Application(MCA)
Master of Business Administration(MBA)
3. Bachelor's Degree Program (BDP)
Foundation Courses
(iii)Humanities & Social Science
(iv)Science & technology

B.A (Honours)
(v)Political Science
(vii)Public Administration

B.Sc (Honours)

B.Com (Honours)

4. Bachelor's Preparatory Program(BPP):
This course has been devised for those who could not complete their 10+2. with the completion of this course candidates would get direct admission to Bachelor's degree programs.

5. Certificate Courses
Pre-primary teacher's training
English for Communication
Bengali Language
Human Rights
Aqua Culture
6. Vocational courses
Tailoring and dress designing
House wiring and armature winding
Repair and maintenance of Electrical and Electronic equipments
Automobile Repair and Maintenance
Advance Course on Tailoring and Dress designing
Advanced Diploma in Tailoring and Dress Designing
Advance Course on Automobile Engineering.

7. PG Diploma Courses
PG Diploma in Journalism and Mass Communication
PG Diploma in English Language Teaching (DELT)
8. Diploma Courses
Entrepreneurship Development and Small Business Management
Medical Laboratory Technology
Yoga Therapy and Physiotherapy
Basic Photography, Advanced Photography
Advanced Pre-Primary Teachers' Training
Advertising and Public Relations.
NSOU Study Centers:
NSOU has a number of study centers in almost all districts of West Bengal, these are -
Study Centers for Professional Courses
Study Centers for B. Ed. in Special Education
Center for Language Studies( this is NSOU's own study center)
Admission procedure at NSOU:
Admission schedules are generally notified in the newspapers during the month of May. The information brochure along with the form is made available at study centers and Allahabad Bank (Elgin Road branch, Kolkata)

Contact details of Netaji Subhash Open University
Netaji Subhash Open University
1, Woodburn Park, Kolkata- 700 020
West Bengal, India
Phone: (033) 2283-5157
Fax: (033) 2283-5082
Web Site:

No comments:

Post a Comment