Wednesday, July 21, 2010

Indian Institutes Of Technology(IIT)

Studying in an IIT or Indian Institute of Technology is the first thing that every ambitious engineering aspirant can think of in India. IIT Bombay, IIT Delhi, IIT Kanpur, IIT Kharagpur, IIT Madras, IIT Guwahati, IIT Roorkee are the seven IITs in India that are also termed as National Institutes of Importance. Set up under the Institutes of Technology Act, 1963, IITs are statutory bodies. The central administration of the IITs is looked after by the IIT Council. IITc Council is the apex body which is headed by the Human Resource Department of Indian Government.

Beside the existing seven IITs, nine more IITs have been proposed to be set up in different parts of the country. These states are - Madhya Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Gujarat, Orissa, Bihar and Punjab. IT-BHU will also be converted into an IIT. For a nation which is huge in every dimension needs some more institutes of high standard technology education.

Development of IITs

* The foundation for the IITs in India was laid in 1946 by the Executive Council of Viceroy, Sir Jogendra Singh.
* The main aim was to develop a technical structure to aid the industrial development in the country.
* On May 1950, the first Indian Institute of Technology was set up in Kharagpur.
* By 1961 four more such institutes were established in Mumbai, Kanpur, Chennai and Delhi.
* IIT Guwahati was established in 1994.
* In 2001, University of Roorkee was granted IIT status. This formed the seventh campus of the IITs in India.
entrance examination.



1 comment: